Colts Board Of Directors

Corporate Board

The Colts Youth Organization (a nonprofit corporation) sponsors the Colts Drum & Bugle Corps, Colt Cadets Drum & Bugle Corps, the Colts Summer Band, and PanrhythmiX and Pandemonium steel drum ensembles.

The primary objective of the Colts Youth Organization is to provide programs for youth in music, performance and life skills training through a positive environment that emphasizes character and social development, leadership, self-discipline and the pursuit and achievement of excellence in the performing arts.

Interested in becoming a member of the Colts Board Of Directors? Contact Bill Symoniak at to learn more about how to get involved.

Associated objectives are:

  • To preserve and build on the great tradition of the Colts Drum & Bugle Corps as a nationally known and ranked touring drum and bugle corps that has grown since 1963.
  • To appropriately represent Dubuque, Dubuque County, and the United States and the drum and bugle corps activity worldwide.
  • To support music and performance arts education in Dubuque and the State of Iowa, to stimulate interest in the study of music and the drum and bugle corps activity.

The Board of Directors consists of 12 — 18 voting members and the Executive Director (ex officio) with members serving staggering three-year terms. One to three members from the Colts Booster Club, Inc. are appointed to the Corporate Board.

Click here for a listing of the Colts administrative staff.

Current Corporate Board Members
  • Cathi Roberts, President
  • Mike Kelley, Vice President
  • Bill Howes, Treasurer
  • Elijah Elmshaeuser*, Secretary
  • Jim Johnson*, Past President
  • Brent Smith, Booster Club President
  • Jeff MacFarlane*, Executive Director (ex officio)

  • Greg Blum*
  • Jenn Broghammer
  • Luis Del Toro
  • Steve LaHood*
  • Michele McKnelly
  • Gary Metzger
  • J.J. Miller*
  • Jake Rios
  • LeAnn Splitter*
  • Cindy Steichen*
  • Bill Symoniak
* denotes Colts Alumni
Corporate Board Meetings

The Colts Corporation Board of Directors meets monthly, generally in conjunction with weekend camps, and holds an annual meeting each fall to elect new directors and appoint officers for the coming year.

  • Meeting minutes from past board meetings are available upon request by sending an email to
    Jeff MacFarlane, Colts Executive Director.

Booster Board

The Booster Club was formed on November 16, 1966. It was renamed Colts Booster Club, Inc. on October 17, 1996.

The main purpose of the Colts Booster Club, Inc. (a nonprofit organization) is to support the programs of the Colts Youth Organization through local fundraising events. Main fundraising events include the Colts Car Wash in June.

Board members are elected to a three-year term with three board members elected each year. Interested in becoming a member of the Colts Booster Board? Contact Brent Smith at to learn more about how to get involved.

Current Booster Board Members
  • Brent Smith, President
  • Kim O'Connell, Vice President
  • Jenn Broghammer, Treasurer
  • Tracy Nowack, Secretary

  • Terry Delaney
  • Dave Errthum
  • Jim Hauser
  • Steffany King
  • Jon Ziegenfuss
  • Jeff MacFarlane*, Executive Director (ex officio)
* denotes Colts Alumni