2016 Banquet Awards And Recap

August 30, 2016

The Colts Youth Organization annual awards and recognition banquet for the Colts and Colt Cadets was held on Wednesday, August 10th in Muncie, Indiana. Traditionally held in Dubuque on Thanksgiving weekend, the banquet was moved to finals week this year to allow all students and staff the opportunity to attend.

The event was held at Heartland Hall on the grounds of the Delaware County Fairgrounds, with over 400 students, staff, and family members in attendance. Thanks to a generous donation from a Colts parent, the meal was catered by City Barbeque. If you were unable to be here with us, we wish you could have been to share the experience and our new tradition!

The banquet allowed us to recognize our achievements as well as the outstanding contributions of both members and volunteers. Awards presented for the Colts and the Colt Cadets members were:


Outstanding First Year Members:
Brass - Michael Kennedy
Guard - Kelsey Luedecke
Battery - Derek Peplaw
Front Ensemble - Jesse Mack

Most Improved Members:
Brass - Carter Secor
Guard - Katelyn LaManna
Percussion - Alex Bublick
Front Ensemble - Julio Abreu
Visual - Darren Figgins

Outstanding Section Members:
Brass - Casey Dozier and Alex Spenceri
Guard - Jessica Coblentz
Percussion - Noah Cole
Front Ensemble - Philip Treutel
Visual - Motonori Tsunoda

Robert M. Buelow Award (Colts Member of the Year): Casey Dozier


Outstanding First Year Members:
Brass - Jonathan Samsel and Justin Nowack
Guard - Hanna Nabulsi and Deena Nabulsi
Battery - Dalton Vanderpool
Front Ensemble - Blake Dunn

Most Improved Members:
Brass - Christopher Speakman
Guard - Mackenzie Bodell
Battery - Spencer Geers
Front Ensemble - Meredith Jones and Bryan Nunez

Outstanding Section Members:
Brass - Joseph Smith
Guard - Maya Struhar
Battery - Tony Cangelli
Front Ensemble - Ben Litterer and Christian Vasquez

Michael J. Wolfe Award (Colt Cadets Member of the Year): Tony Canganelli

Age out awards were presented to 26 members of the Colts. These individuals and marching years were:
Katie Adams - 1
Luke Burch - 1
Gabriel Cabrera - 1
Allison Cumbie - 1
Derek Dalton - 1
Jake Esterberg - 1
Chris Garcia - 1
Danny Groh - 1
Sema Kazemi - 1
Jesse Mack - 1
Nick Miller - 1
Derek Peplaw - 1
Seth Post - 1
Jay Verbecken - 1
Trace Woods - 1
Sarah Rabin - 2
Phil Treutel - 2
Andy Eklund - 3
Ryan Feather - 3
Alyssa Navarro - 3
Karysa Taylor - 3
Shawn Coleman - 4
Jessica Coblentz - 4
Lauren Emerson - 4
Mason Moss - 4
Collin Schneweis - 5
We will miss their 52 years of combined experience. Congratulations to all age outs!

The banquet also included recognition of the outstanding parent volunteers from throughout the summer and speeches from caption heads and designers recapping the season. At the end of the night, all Colts members and staff were presented with their 2016 triangles.

Following the banquet was Colt Cadets' final performance of the year on Thursday morning in Lucas Oil as a part of the Drum Corps International World Championships. Colts performed Thursday and had their final performance of the season on Friday evening.

Saturday was a wrap up of the season for both corps at Ball State, including speeches from age outs, the final playing of the corps song, and the end of the season dismissal.

Thank you to all the parents, volunteers and supporters who make it all happen!

Return to Colts News.